Generac Home Generators Propane Reviews

Posted on  by admin
With its formidable 435cc Yanmar engine, rugged steel frame, and astonishing 32-hour run time, the Generac Portable Propane Generator and Generac Portable Diesel Generator XD5000E professional-grade diesel generator is a smart choice for reliable portable power.
Original review: March 1, 2022

I tried to get a quote from Generac generators. The appointment was scheduled & no one showed up or called. They are the worst in taking care of a new customer. I give them an "F." When I called to find out why no one showed up, it was because they may to pull a permit to install which is normal where I am located. I only wanted a quote, not an install. What kind of jokers does generac give their business to. I am done with them.

The strength and longevity of the Generac XD5000E is evident from the first glance.
The 1.25-inch steel tube frame is lightweight yet durable, with three areas of vertical support to protect the operational components from impact.
Original review: Jan. 21, 2022

I was told that I had to have one of their contractors to install to get the 7 year warranty. When I called to check on the warranty after the installation I did not get a answer. When I finally got to talk to someone I was told that I had to buy the generator from one of their distributor electrical contractors and have it installed by them. I bought the generator from somewhere other than them so I do not have a seven year warranty. I want anyone that wishes to save money and have a warranty not to purchase a GENERAC generator.

Its design includes an integrated lifting eye for transporting the 252-pound generator; unfortunately, the mobility kit—sturdy never-flat wheels, handle and front foot—is sold separately, and you really can’t go without it.

Beneath the surface, the XD5000E is a beast. The air-cooled, direct-injection Yanmar engine is counterbalanced for smooth, vibration-free operation, even at its peak of 9.3HP at 3600 RPM.

With harmonic distortion capped at 6 percent, it’s safe for use with sensitive electronic devices.
Original review: Dec. 7, 2021

I bought a 22kw stand by Generac Generator from an installation company in November of 2020. In August of 2021 the power went out for the first time since purchasing. The generator ran and I had power. Then a service tech came out to do a scheduled warranty service and said the motor doesn't sound right. It turns out that the tab on a spark plug was broken off and banging around in the cylinder. Generac ok'd a new motor. It's now December 6th, my power is out, and still no word on the new motor. That's over three months now.

A high-quality muffler helps keep noise at a manageable level, although like any diesel generator, it’s not going to operate silently. The engine is Tier 4 EPA-certified and CARB-compliant, and the low oil pressure shutdown feature prevents inadvertent damage. Thanks to the engine’s excellent fuel efficiency and high-capacity 12-gallon fuel tank, you won’t have to interrupt your work to refuel: a single tank of diesel yields more than 32 hours of run time at 50 percent load.

Read full review
The fuel cap is fitted with a convenient gauge to ensure you never end up running on empty.
Starting the Generac is a cinch, with both recoil pull-start and battery-operated electric push-button start; however, the required 12V battery for the electric starter must be purchased separately.
Original review: Dec. 1, 2021

The solar batteries are extremely limited in that it can't support an hvac system, which most solar batteries can handle with ease. However, if you have an additional 15,000 dollars you can achieve it. But why waste the money when other companies can do it cheaper.

An integrated compression release lever guarantees smooth starts, even in cold weather.
The high-visibility control panel includes an hour meter with alerts to help you manage both usage and maintenance.
Original review: Oct. 21, 2021

I have purchased several Generac generators and I have just had my first complication. The generator at my main residence is a 16kw about a year and a half old. During the last outage the motor suffered a catastrophic failure. I called to find a service tech who came out and verified that it was in fact DOA. Generac approved a motor replacement and assured me that it would be expedited. Four weeks later and I have no motor. My service tech and I have both reached out to my Generac representative with no response via email or phone. I am without power once again as it has become a standard event. I have no backup generator which means no water as I am on a well. Generac is only concerned with selling generators. They have no interest in service or warranty after the sale. Do yourself a big favor and buy a different brand. It's not if if you will have a problem, it's when and you will be on your own.

It also features a 120/240V selector switch, 23-amp main circuit breaker, 30-amp push button circuit breaker, two 20-amp push button circuit breakers, two 120V 20-amp GFCI duplex outlets, one 120V/240V twist-lock outlet and one 120V twist-lock outlet.
Peak watts: 5,500. Running watts: 5,000.
Original review: Oct. 13, 2021

Purchased a stand alone 10kw Generac generator in 2013. In August 2021 home power went out. Noticed blue smoke pouring from generator that had turned on. Dealer came and after 1.5 hours determined the motor had gone bad. Generator had a total of less than 20 service hours since 2013. I have riding lawnmowers older than this generator that run well. Now I have to pay for a new motor that is not here as of October. I have since noticed generator companies with a 10 year warranty and 24/7 service.

Run time at 50% load:4 hours.
Weight: 252 pounds. Dimensions:1″ L x 22.5″ W x 25.6″ H.
Original review: Aug. 31, 2021

We had a Breather Gasket oil leak on our 11KW generator. The cause was the 2 bolts vibrated loose after less than 3 years. Generac wouldn’t cover the repair even though this is a common problem. The fix was a kit with gasket and 2 new bolts with thread lock on them. This problem was stated in the directions for the kit so Generac knows this is a common manufacturing problem. I think it should have been a recall. Generac’s reason for not covering it was our warranty for everything except the power part of the engine had expired. It seems they look for any way to not back their warranty.

Fuel capacity: 12 gallons. Noise level: N/A.
Warranty: 2 years. To download the owner’s manual PDF of the Generac Portable Propane Generator from the Generac website, please click here.
Original review: Aug. 27, 2021

We just had our home generator installed. We called to make sure we had our free 7 year extended warranty. We found out in order to qualify for the free warranty we would have had to initiate the sale through their website or through a special telephone number. Unfortunately, we contacted a local Generac Dealer who came out and assessed our needs, and gave us a quote for installation. We ordered the unit. The response this morning was...."Sorry...you needed to originate from the website not contact the dealer yourself." I am incredibly annoyed. They are warrantying their process not their product. We were warned that Generac was a good product but their customer service, business unit was terrible. Beware. Hopefully, it will work when we need it.

We would be remiss if we did not mention some of the advantages and potential disadvantages to the Generac Portable Propane Generator.
No portable generator is perfect, and our weight as a source of unbiased portable generator product reviews would be in jeopardy if we did not recognize this fact.
Original review: Aug. 16, 2021

July 2021 decided to have installed a standby generator. Contacted Generac and was supplied local vendors. Screened out 1-3 via BBB. Contacted one. Was told only do large system not smaller. Contacted 2 more of 1 came to house. Same story. Contacted Generac who stated 26 vendors my area call another and sent same company that originally told me only do top size systems. I then contacted customer service to ask why they did not require vendors to install more than 2 types units or have a list of what who only installs. Never heard back. They then sent me a survey review of my customer service. Really! Bottom line unless you want to spend $14-16K. Or can find a back door service guy Goodluck. They lost me as a customer. Sad to say since I was originally from WI Generac HQ.

As such, below are some pros and cons of the Generac Portable Propane Generator.
We also have included a few relevant alternatives if this product does not check all the boxes to meet your needs.
Original review: Aug. 16, 2021

We have tried unsuccessfully to get our generator serviced. We reached out to multiple companies that handle the service work that are authorized and none of them are able to have Generac work with them to get this fixed. After talking to several authorized dealers it appears this is a systemic problem. I'm not sure if they sold more generators than they can handle but what once was a great company is no longer. We have a $4500 brick!

The efficient and powerful 435cc engine and massive 12-gallon fuel tank combine to give the XD5000E an eye-popping 32.4 hours of continuous run time at half load, so you won’t spend as much time or effort refueling as you would with other models.